Research -> Reading -> Practice !!! --> Is it the path to applied knowledge? <--

In this blog today I will demonstrate which ways I usually acquire theoretical knowledge and how I put them into practice daily, which are the sources of this information and much more:

Without further ado, here we go:

First of all, I would like to make it very clear that I always seek information from 100% reliable sources such as: https://developer.apple.com/, https://docs.oracle.com/en/java/ and many others besides the unofficial ones and these media I would like to address in this post.

  1. Stackoverflow(blog): stackoverflow.blog

    • Many people use Stackoverflow just to consult the experiences of other users, ask technical questions, etc., but the blogs are very good because they are created by great professionals, very well known in the world of technology, and always brilliantly exposing their thoughts and creations. In many of these blogs, we can find different ways to solve the same problem but with completely different approaches than we had in mind, in addition, we also find the more communicative side of a senior developer because in his blogs he puts into words all his knowledge and through this, we have the chance to consume this knowledge.
  1. Feedspot: feedspot.com

    • On this site is where I find the greatest diversity of blogs divided by subjects and applications, on this site, there is a list of blogs that help me to reach specific blogs of the technology that I am researching, which in this case is Swift, for example:

  1. Gustavo Guanabara: https://www.youtube.com/@CursoemVideo

    • In this case, it's not exactly a blog, but a YT Channel that I've been following since 2015 and this person called Gustavo Guanabara is one of the biggest supporters I've had in my career as a developer, I met him at a technology job fair where I was looking for new developers for my team and Gustavo was looking to help some friends at the beginning of their careers and in this way we met and I started to follow his channel and through the courses, he taught and still teaches on his channel and website my interest in learning was born a little more about the developer career. Then he starts consuming the material where he talks about basic concepts of numbers, object-oriented programming, what is binary language and much more.

    • And today, after 8 years, I'm sure that these fundamentals helped me and helped me to get where I am today and in many of my technical interviews, I was asked questions related to programming fundamentals.

  2. Lex Fridman / Stanford online:

    https://online.stanford.edu/ https://www.youtube.com/@lexfridman/about/

    • These two channels are two very similar sources to acquire general technology knowledge, in both channels, you can find 5-minute explanations of how the computer works but you can also find James Gosling, creator of JAVA explaining how the idea of creating the JAVA language and much more and even find a scientist explaining in detail in a lecture given to Stanford students “Efficient Computing for Deep Learning, Robotics, and AI (Vivienne Sze)”. It is also possible to find a lot of material about different technologies such as Autonomous cars, space rockets, Artificial Intelligence and much more in technology and science.

  1. Apple Developer ( developer.apple.com/develop )

  • As I am towards my graduation and I am looking for iOS developer specialization this site could not be missing from my list, this site is where I find everything about Apple in an official and reliable source, where I can check product launches, platforms, and new technologies, I also have access to several tools like “Test Flight” and many other development tools.

  • The purpose of this blog is not to speak technically but to bring you ways to access the world of development and technology and for that, I would like to show the main path that I found and that opened a gigantic and very large universe in this area of technology.

  • In the year 2020, I had the opportunity to get to know WWDC2020 and on this page, I started watching 1 video a week then I watched some lectures and finally I got to the videos of technology launches, and tutorials talking about this platform that I am proud to say that I study for myself become a Senior iOS developer in the future.

  • This platform taught me many basic and advanced concepts of the tools developed to make the software developer's life more dynamic and synthesized every day, creating faster ways to achieve the same result.

  • Let's talk a little about basic concepts: These concepts are called basic but in my opinion, they should be called basic knowledge because this knowledge will make you an idea of depth when you are creating something and will certainly allow you to write a solid APP and also with great usability and performance dynamics, as for more advanced concepts on this platform, I also obtained them through tutorials presented by engineers, developers working within Apple's Development Department, and the way these engineers approach the day-to-day development problems is unique.

  • I'll give you an example I had in a project I was developing together with my team: We were creating a logic for a specific function and we spent days thinking about which path to take and we never reached a conclusion that would work, that's when I looked for a professor of mine iOS who, in addition to being a professor, was a senior developer and in just 20 minutes of conversation he gave me another point of view and that's when a click happened in my head and everything made sense, so with this little passage in my life I understood even more than looking for technical material, blogs, YouTube channels, etc.,. the more you consume quality materials and look for people with experience in the area to share their experiences and motivations this will be of great value for your career and personal growth.

If you have any doubts, feel free to contact me so that I could address in more depth any point that was left open.

@by Hygor Costa